Faculty Updates



Faculty Achievements

Liane Miller, MD



Dr. Kristy Weber: First female AAOS President



It is with great excitement and pride that we announce the inauguration of our own Dr. Kristy Weber as the 87th President of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS). Dr. Weber took office in March 2019 as the Academy's first female President and will serve until March 2020.

She has dedicated herself to guiding the future of orthopaedics and championing for diversity in

the field having served on the board of directors of the AAOS, American Orthopaedic Association, Orthopaedic Research Society, and the Connective Tissue Oncology Society and served as past President of the Musculoskeletal Tumor Society and Ruth Jackson Society. She was also the recipient of the 2006 Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award for her work in metastatic bone disease.

In her tireless advocacy for her patients, Dr. Weber also serves as chief of Orthopaedic Oncology in the Perelman School of Medicine, director of the Sarcoma Program in Penn Medicine's Abramson Cancer Center, and Vice Chair of faculty affairs in the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Penn.

In her inaugural address this March, Dr. Weber communicated her assessment of the current state of the Academy and provided a vision that was both ambitious and aspirational. She outlined a new strategic plan that will focus on "personalizing the member experience, especially in the area of digital learning, equipping members to thrive in the new value based environment, advancing the quality of orthopaedic care, and evolving the culture to become more innovative and diverse."

Dr.Weber made a final point during her address to confront the issues of bias, prejudice, and stereotyping within the field of orthopaedics, and acknowledged that much work remains to be done before the culture of this profession can be deemed inclusive of women and underrepresented minorities. She reminded the audience that "our differences should stimulate curiosity, not judgement" and asked that we all be mindful of the "unique qualities, experiences, and perspectives [we bring] to our practices, leadership roles, and interactions with others."

Despite the continued challenges and barriers we face as a field, we are encouraged that its future lies within the capable and progressive hands of Dr. Weber as she strives to create a more welcoming culture in our practices, institutions, and the Academy.



Figure 1: Dr. Kristy Weber and Dr. David A. Halsey, outgoing AAOS President, during the Opening Ceremonies at the 2019 Annual AAOS Meeting

Dr. L. Scott Levin: President of the American Society for Surgery of the Hand



On September 15th 2018, Dr. L Scott Levin was introduced as the incoming American Society for Surgery of the Hand (ASSH) President, during the organizations 73rd annual meeting in Boston. As the President, Dr. Levin will oversee the entire ASSH Council and work to further the objectives of the organization's strategic vision and mission to advance the science and practice of hand and upper

extremity surgery.

Board certified in both Orthopaedic and Plastic Surgery, Dr. Levin also serves as the chairman of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Penn, Professor of Plastic Surgery, founding member of the Penn Orthoplastic Limb Salvage Center, director of Penn Medicine's Hand Transplant Program and director of the CHOP Pediatric Hand Transplant Program, and the Paul B. Magnuson Professor of Bone and Joint Surgery. These experiences and achievements have made him wellsuited for the presidential position. The ASSH was founded shortly after World War II by a group of 35 military hand surgeons who met to discuss the care and treatment of service members with hand and upper extremity injuries. Today, the organization has over 3,800 international members from orthopedic, plastic surgery and general surgery backgrounds. The ASSH has a strong focus of advocacy for both patients and practitioners through collaboration, education, and clinical care—a legacy that Dr. Levin will no doubt continue to promote during his time as President He will serve in this role until September 2019.

Dr. Fred Kaplan: Winner of the Grand Hamdan International Award for Medical Sciences

The department is delighted to acknowledge the incredible work and dedication of Dr. Frederick S. Kaplan in his pursuit of cure Fibrodysplasia Ossificans Progressiva (FOP). Dr. Kaplan is the Isaac and Rose Nassau Professor of Orthopedic Molecular



Medicine and Chief of the Division of Molecular Orthopedic Medicine at the Perelman School of Medicine and has made tremendous strides in understanding the pathology and potential treatment opportunities for FOP.

On December 12th, 2018, he was presented with the Grand Hamdan International Award for Medical Sciences by H.H. Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid al Maktoum, Deputy

Ruler of Dubai, United Arab Emirates, Minister of Finance, and the Patron of the Award. This award highlights those within the profession who are dedicated to the alleviation of the sufferings of humanity through research and exemplary service.